The Tampa Bay Marathon Swim

This Year's 24-Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim will be held on Saturday, April 22nd, 2017.

Since the 24-Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim was first staged in 1998, it has drawn competitors from across the United States, and from Great Britain, Guatemala, Italy, Mexico, Australia, Japan, Switzerland, Baliwick of Jersey, Argentina, Dominican Republic, Germany, India, Canada, and the Cayman Islands.

One of the World's Longest Open Water Swimming Races

The race is one of the world's longest marathon swims, and is held annually in April, in celebration of Earth Day. Tampa Bay's marathon swim race is one of the world's longest open water swimming races, covering the length of Florida's largest estuary.

7:41 - Chris Derks, 2002 (Overall & Men's Record)
7:51 - Penny Palfrey, 2008 (Women's Record)
18:09 - Andrew Heinrich, 2015 (Swam the Longest)
9:52 - Ron Collins, 1998 (First Swimmer)
8:34 - Gail Rice, 1998 (First Woman)
7:53 - Team Hammerhead, 2006 (Fastest 3 person Relay)
7:39 - The Sharks, 2006 (Fastest 6 person Relay)
14:21 - Carl Selles, 2014 (Oldest Male Swimmer, age 67)
10:21 - Barbara Held, 2011 (Oldest Female Swimmer, age 57)

For more information about the 24 Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim, visit:

Or send email to Ron Collins, Race Director:


The Tampa Bay Marathon Swim
Distance Matters, Inc.
Ron Collins, Race Director
P.O. Box 18004
Clearwater, FL 33762-9998
Phone: 727.531.7999 |

Facebook Comments